500 Milestone: 100th running of the Indy 500 Sunday on ABC

The Memorial Day weekend tradition celebrates a big milestone with the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500 from famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Sunday, May 29. Top drivers competing for the Borg-Warner Trophy include Scott Dixon, Helio Castroneves, Simon Pagenaud, Tony Kanaan, and last season’s Indy 500 winner, Juan Pablo Montoya. Canada’s James Hinchcliffe starts the race at the pole position.

With a record 100 cameras in use, ABC airs the Indy 500 for the 52nd consecutive year, and the race will stream live on WatchESPN for the first time. Prerace coverage begins at 11am ET, with the green flag scheduled for 12:17pm ET. Allen Bestwick calls the race with analysts Eddie Cheever and Scott Goodyear. Pit reporters are Jon Beekhuis, Rick DeBruhl and Dr. Jerry Punch. Lindsay Czarniak hosts the pre-race show.

About Ryan Berenz 2039 Articles
Devotee of Star Wars. Builder of LEGO. Observer of televised sports. Member of the Television Critics Association. Graduate of the University of Wisconsin. Connoisseur of beer. Consumer of cheese. Father of two. Husband of one. Scourge of the Alaskan Bush People. Font of Simpsons knowledge. Son of a Stonecutter.