FXM airing New Year’s Day marathon of “Fargo” series

In case you missed the outstanding Fargo limited series that aired on FX last year, you’ll have a chance to catch up with the first installment (the series has been renewed) during a marathon of all 10 episodes airing Jan. 1 beginning at 2pm ET on FXM. The first two episodes will air commercial-free, and additional episodes will air with limited commercial interruptions.


An adaptation of the classic Academy Award winning feature film of the same title by Joel & Ethan Coen, Fargo featured an all-new “true crime” story and followed a new case and new characters, all entrenched in the trademark humor, murder and “Minnesota nice” that made the film an enduring classic. Oscar winner Billy Bob Thornton starred as Lorne Malvo, a rootless, manipulative man who meets and forever changes the life of small town insurance salesman Lester Nygaard, played by BAFTA Award winner and Emmy-winning Martin Freeman. Colin Hanks played Duluth Police Deputy Gus Grimly, a single dad who was forced to choose between his own personal safety and his duty as a policeman when he came face-to-face with a killer. Allison Tolman also starred as Molly Solverson, an ambitious Bemidji deputy. Fargo was written by Noah Hawley. Hawley, Warren Littlefield, Joel & Ethan Coen and Geyer Kosinski served as executive producers.

Fargo received a 2014 AFI Award and garnered an astounding 18 Emmy nominations, winning three awards: Outstanding Miniseries; Outstanding Directing for a Miniseries, Movie or Dramatic Special (Colin Bucksey); and Outstanding Casting for a Miniseries, Movie or Special (Rachel Tenner).  Most recently, Fargo earned five Golden Globe® Award nominations for Best Performance by an Actor (Billy Bob Thornton and Martin Freeman), Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role (Colin Hanks), Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role (Allison Tolman) and Best Miniseries or TV Movie.

Production on the next installment of the Fargo franchise will begin January 2015 in Calgary and the miniseries is slated to premiere next fall on FX. Golden Globe Award nominated Kirsten Dunst and Breaking Bad’s Jesse Plemons have signed on to star in the next chapter, set in 1979 Sioux Falls, South Dakota and Luverne, Minnesota. Emmy Award winning executive producers Noah Hawley (showrunner/writer), Joel & Ethan Coen, Warren Littlefield and John Cameron all return for the second installment.

The Fargo marathon begins Jan. 1 at 2pm ET on FXM.


Matthias Clamer/FX
Copyright 2014, FX Networks. All rights reserved.