BET Honors 2014: Honorees, performers and presenters

Wayne Brady hosts the BET Honors 2014, a ceremony taped Feb. 8 in Washington, D.C, which will premiere on BET Feb. 24 at 9pm ET in a two-hour special.

BET Honors is celebrating its seventh year in 2014. The ceremony recognizes and celebrates the gifts and contributions of exceptional African American leaders in the fields of music, literature, entertainment, media, service and education. This year, the BET Honors 2014 will honor Queen of Soul Aretha Franklin (Musical Arts Award), Motown Records founder Berry Gordy (Visionary Award), American Express CEO & Chairman Kenneth Chenault (Corporate Citizen Award), visual artist Carrie Mae Weems (Visual Arts Award), musician/actor Ice Cube (Entertainment Award) and freedom fighter/political leader Nelson Mandela, who passed away last year.

Janelle Monae

Presenting at the BET Honors 2014 are Rev. Al Sharpton, Joe Morton, Ludacris and Mack Wilds. Performers at the event will be Mariah Carey, Jennifer Hudson, Janelle Monae (pictured), Tamar Braxton, Smokey Robinson and Karen Clark Sheard.

BET Honors 2014 premieres Feb. 24 at 9pm ET/PT on BET.


Janelle Monae performing at BET Honors 2014: Courtesy of BET