“Songs from Scandal” soundtrack features soul music classics from “Scandal” Seasons 1 and 2

A soundtrack album collecting classic 1970s soul music as featured in the hit ABC series Scandal will be released Sept. 3, via Stax Records, ABC announced today.

Scandal, which chronicles the deception, turmoil and mystery within the American political system, wasn’t only inspired by power and politics, according to creator and executive producer Shonda Rhimes in her liner notes for the album. She and music supervisor Alex Patsavas chose certain songs, and a certain style of song, to reflect the fierce determination of the series’ characters, such as Olivia Pope (Kerry Washington), and its storyline.

“During those four days [of writing the Scandal pilot],” recalls Rhimes in the liner notes, “the soundtrack of my writing was the funky, delicious music of the 1970s. … It’s the music that came after they killed Jack and Bobby and Martin and Malcolm. It’s the music after Nixon disappointed a nation, it’s the music of the sexual revolution and the feminist movement.”

That music carried over into the background of the series’ first two seasons, and several of those songs will be featured on the album, called Songs from Scandal: Music for Gladiators.

Songs From Scandal debuts on the day that Scandal Season 2 arrives on DVD (also Sept. 3), and a month before Scandal Season 3 debuts on ABC (Oct. 3). So it should give Scandal fans something to tide them over before embarking on the new season.

“For those of you who heard this music the first time around,” concludes Rhimes in the liner notes, “welcome home. For those of you who are hearing it for the first time, pleased to meet you. Put on your headphones and give this music a listen. And become a Gladiator in a suit.”

Songs from Scandal: Music for Gladiators features 12 tracks of songs heard throughout Seasons 1 and 2. The album can be pre-ordered on Amazon before its Sept. 3 release.

Songs from Scandal: Music for Gladiators Track list:

  1. War – Edwin Starr
  2. Green Onions – Booker T. & The MG’s
  3. Everyday People – Sly & The Family Stone
  4. I Can See Clearly Now – Johnny Nash
  5. Tell Me Something Good – Rufus and Chaka Khan
  6. Get Down Tonight – KC and The Sunshine Band
  7. I Believe in You (You Believe in Me) – Johnnie Taylor
  8. Respect Yourself (RAC Remix) – The Staple Singers
  9. Crazy – Bettye LaVette
  10. You’re All I Need to Get By – Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell
  11. I Think It’s Going to Rain Today – Nina Simone
  12. The Light – The Album Leaf


1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Joshua Malina narrates Scandal Season 3 preview special

Comments are closed.