Breaking Bad wins program of year, complete 2013 TCA Award winners list

The Television Critics Association recognized the top programs and actors of the 2012-2013 television season at its 29th Annual TCA Awards at the Beverly Hills Hilton on Saturday. Hosting the invitation-only, non-televised event were Comedy Central’s Keegan-Michael Key and Jordan Peele, who rocked the house in character as their famed impersonations of Obama and his anger translator Luther.

2013 TCA Award winner for Program Of Year - Breaking BadIn addition to the 200-plus membership of U.S. and Canadian TV journalists and critics (not all in attendance), the room was filled with some of TV’s brightest stars who took home honors for their outstanding year in television. Vince Gilligan, Bryan Cranston, RJ Mitte, Dean Norris and Jonathan Banks accepted the 2013 TCA Program of the Year honors for Breaking Bad, which returns to AMC for its final eight episodes next Sunday (Aug. 11).

Ignored by the Emmy’s, both The Americans and BBC America’s Tatiana Maslany (Orphan Black) were honored; as well as Louis C.K., Game of Thrones, The Big Bang Theory and Parks and Recreation. Norman Lear and Rob Reiner were in attendance to accept the organization’s Heritage Award for All in the Family. The sharks were also in the house as the entire Shark Tank team accepted their award for Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming.

Louis C.K., who won for Individual Achievement in Comedy for his FX series Louie, eyed up his award and mocked that if he ever opened a diner he could easily slip the drink specials into it. “It’s literally a plastic piece of shit,” he said, which opened the door for additional jabs throughout the evening. When Big Bang Theory creator Chuck Lorre accepted his award for Outstanding Achievement in Comedy (which tied with Parks and Recreation), he said that although critics can help a series when it’s struggling, “they can also sneak into the nursery and kill the baby.” The evening truly was a colorful celebration honoring quality television.

The complete list of 2013 TCA Award winners:

Individual Achievement in Drama: Tatiana Maslany (“Orphan Black,” BBC America)

Individual Achievement in Comedy: Louis C.K. (“Louie,” FX)

Outstanding Achievement in News and Information: “The Central Park Five” (PBS)

Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming: “Shark Tank” (ABC)

Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming: “Bunheads” (ABC Family)

Outstanding New Program: “The Americans” (FX)

Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials: “Behind the Candelabra” (HBO)

Outstanding Achievement in Drama: “Game of Thrones” (HBO)

Outstanding Achievement in Comedy: (Tie) “The Big Bang Theory” (CBS) and “Parks and Recreation” (NBC).

Career Achievement Award: Barbara Walters (ABC)

Heritage Award: “All in the Family” (CBS)

Program of the Year: “Breaking Bad” (AMC)