“Saturday Night Live” adds three new cast members

When it begins its 38th season this Saturday, Sept. 15, NBC’s venerable late-night institution Saturday Night Live will have a noticeably different look, in terms of cast members.

Departing the show are favorites Kristen Wiig, Andy Samberg and Abby Elliott. (still no word on whether Jason Sudeikis would be back, but if not, that would be another big blow to the cast). UPDATE 9/12/12: Variety reports that Sudeikis has re-signed with the show until January.

To fill the slots, NBC announced today that SNL has added three featured players — Aidy Bryant, Tim Robinson and Cecily Strong. Bryant trained with iO Chicago, Annoyance Theatre and was an ensemble member of the Second City E.T.C. Stage. Robinson, also an alumnus of The Second City, performed on their Mainstage and in their National Touring Company. He has also performed at the iO Theater in Chicago, and at the Just For Laughs Festival in Montreal. Strong has performed as a member of the Second City National Touring Company and has studied at the iO Theater.

SNL‘s season premiere on Saturday at 11:30pm ET will feature Seth MacFarlane as host, and Frank Ocean as musical guest. Other upcoming hosts and and musical guests in Season 38 will include Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Mumford & Sons (Sept. 22); and Daniel Craig and Muse (Oct. 6).


© NBCUniversal, Inc.